User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Abner Mares

Share/Bookmark
    ICB Guest

Default Abner Mares

I've really liked Abner Mares for awhile, i think he's really skilled and i've been keeping my eye on him since 2007. I actually once said in a thread he could become a major star, at the lower weightclasses.

But after his win against Diosdado Gabi, he seemed to fall of the radar for a bit. But i've recently just checked up on him, and i see he has a fight against Yonnhy Perez in May for the IBF Bantamweight title.

Finally a fight for him to get some exposure, i really hope he does well. He seems to have a good attitude and very solid boxing basics.

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Abner Mares

He seemed to really stagnate after splitting with Nacho to me. I also had high hopes for him, but having seen him more recently I reckon that Perez will have him up.

Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Perez has done nothing but beat top competition recently. I think Mares might be in too deep here. I agree with Jaz splitting with Nacho has put the ebrake on his rise.
    For every story told that divides us, I believe there are a thousand untold that unite us.

ICB Guest

I agree with you guys about Yonnhy Perez, i see his last two fights. And i was impressed, Silence Mabuza is a pretty decent fighter. And he stopped him in good fashion, not to mention a good win over Joseph Agbeko who was fresh off his win over Vic Darchinyan.

Abner Mares may very well be out of his depth, because he hasn't ever been in with anyone. As good as Yohnny Perez, and as you guys have already stated, the split with Nacho didn't help either. But im still rooting for Abner Mares to pull it off.

Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Yeah I was wondering what happened to Mares.