Boxing Forums


.



User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,640
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    838
    Cool Clicks

    Default can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    iv just watched Gamboa - Salido and Joe Cortez takes 2 points from Gamboa for hitting Salido whilst he is down

    now my two issues with this are that the crazy old fool disqualified Humberto Soto for a glancing blow after he had knocked Lorenzo down but yeah a much harder blow to the back of the head supposedly carries less of a punishment.... but also can a ref deduct 2 points for one foul like this ? seems just like a way to try and screw a fighter out of a decision

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2,829
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    499
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    the ref is king in the ring. He can do just about whatever he deems necessary.

    In THAT case I thought he was kind to Gamboa. He could well have DQ'd him.
    Hidden Content Bring me the best and I will knock them out-Alexis Arguello
    I'm not God, but I am something similar-Robert Duran

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned
    100 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    900
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Quote Originally Posted by hitmanhatton View Post
    iv just watched Gamboa - Salido and Joe Cortez takes 2 points from Gamboa for hitting Salido whilst he is down

    now my two issues with this are that the crazy old fool disqualified Humberto Soto for a glancing blow after he had knocked Lorenzo down but yeah a much harder blow to the back of the head supposedly carries less of a punishment.... but also can a ref deduct 2 points for one foul like this ? seems just like a way to try and screw a fighter out of a decision
    Yes he can. For instance Mills Lane took two points from Tyson for the first bite on Holyfield. (Just two points off for taking half an ear?!)
    Saddo Fantasy Premier League
    2011/12 - 2nd
    2012/13 -1st Hidden Content
    2013/14 - 3rd (Master won)

    Saddo World Cup Dream Team
    2014 - 1st Hidden Content

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,640
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    838
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Quote Originally Posted by marbleheadmaui View Post
    the ref is king in the ring. He can do just about whatever he deems necessary.

    In THAT case I thought he was kind to Gamboa. He could well have DQ'd him.
    its what i was expecting considering his call in the Soto fight i mentioned

    i was also of the opinion however that point deductions were also only officially a recommendation of sorts and the judges can choose to ignore it ... is this correct ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2,829
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    499
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanman View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hitmanhatton View Post
    iv just watched Gamboa - Salido and Joe Cortez takes 2 points from Gamboa for hitting Salido whilst he is down

    now my two issues with this are that the crazy old fool disqualified Humberto Soto for a glancing blow after he had knocked Lorenzo down but yeah a much harder blow to the back of the head supposedly carries less of a punishment.... but also can a ref deduct 2 points for one foul like this ? seems just like a way to try and screw a fighter out of a decision
    Yes he can. For instance Mills Lane took two points from Tyson for the first bite on Holyfield. (Just two points off for taking half an ear?!)
    [laughing]

    Hey he had to leave some points for the other half!
    Hidden Content Bring me the best and I will knock them out-Alexis Arguello
    I'm not God, but I am something similar-Robert Duran

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2,829
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    499
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Quote Originally Posted by hitmanhatton View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by marbleheadmaui View Post
    the ref is king in the ring. He can do just about whatever he deems necessary.

    In THAT case I thought he was kind to Gamboa. He could well have DQ'd him.
    its what i was expecting considering his call in the Soto fight i mentioned

    i was also of the opinion however that point deductions were also only officially a recommendation of sorts and the judges can choose to ignore it ... is this correct ?
    No. The judges have no discretion in a matter like that. Or at least they are not supposed to (Yeah, I'm giving YOU the evil eye Mickey Vann!)

    Now of course what the judges can do is change how they score the round before they deduct the penalty points to screw with the process, but I'm pretty sure that'd be a problem in getting future fights.
    Hidden Content Bring me the best and I will knock them out-Alexis Arguello
    I'm not God, but I am something similar-Robert Duran

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    18,672
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    0
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Quote Originally Posted by marbleheadmaui View Post
    the ref is king in the ring. He can do just about whatever he deems necessary.

    In THAT case I thought he was kind to Gamboa. He could well have DQ'd him.
    That is correct. I once saw Panamanian referee Hector Afu penalize Luis Lazarte 2 points for low blows against Edgar Sosa. When Lazarte protested that was bullshit. Afu pretty much said "fuck you" and DQ'ed him. In Afu defense Lazarte had been warned numerous times

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    9,622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    1117
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Its up to the ref, the rules state he can either take 2 points or DQ for an illegal act that is deemed intentional.
    Hidden Content

    Please see above for my opinion

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    56,668
    Mentioned
    1457 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    2698
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    They can in Germany if you are fighting a German fighter and dare to punch them in the face.
    Do not let success go to your head and do not let failure get to your heart.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12,596
    Mentioned
    164 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    1033
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Yeah absolutely, and so they should be able to. One big shot can easily change the course of a fight. If a guy is winning rounds only to get dropped lightly or off balance etc, and then blasted with a haymaker while grounded he could well never get back into swing. Of course a DQ is probably the best call in that case which absolutely could've happened to Gamboa.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The Bay Area
    Posts
    14,470
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    2607
    Cool Clicks

    Default Re: can a ref take 2 points away from a fighter for one foul ? ?

    Yeah just noticed P4Pkings icon picture thing and Miranda was deducted 2 points in that fight for a headbutt i believe too and might have even had another taken away for something else.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. how many points will dirrell get?
    By oakleyno1 in forum Boxing Talk
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-28-2010, 06:46 PM
  2. Reputation Points...???? Help????
    By Mr. Montage in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 05:24 PM
  3. This puts me in a foul mood
    By BoxingGorilla in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 04-18-2008, 09:39 AM
  4. Replies: 56
    Last Post: 01-11-2007, 07:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  





Boxing | Boxing Photos | Boxing News | Boxing Videos | Boxing Forum | Boxing Books | Boxing Posters | Learn to Box | Advanced Fighting Methods | Boxing Rankings | Boxing Schedule | Auctions | Fun and Games | Boxing Equipment

Copyright © 2000 - 2019 Saddo Boxing - Boxing