Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default new to MMA

hey yall, i am starting MMA and had a couple concerns.i have some experience in boxing but know almost nothing of MMA.almost every time me and my friend sparr, we always come out pretty beat up.are there any concerns i should know about?and also when i watch UFC those guys seem to be able to take face shots pretty well most of the time.have they gotten use to head shots?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: new to MMA

Don't spar hard. That's how you get injured. I suggest you train some Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Muay Thai. They go a very long way in MMA.

Try not to get hit by big shots (obviously) when you fight. They're lethal when it comes to the ending of the fight. Unlike boxing, if you go down, it's most likely finished. If you got a glass jaw, work on your defense PRETTY HARD

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

so u cant help it if u cant take a punch?u cant just take hits or anything?what would u reccomend between brazilian ju jitsu or mui thai?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Both....It's MIXED martial arts. BJJ helps with your ground game, especially submissions. Muay Thai works the striking game, and helps with knees, elbows and kicks, which boxing doesn't touch (obviously). Straight up boxing is good to work just your hands, and learning to evade those huge shots, and wrestling will help you get take downs and is useful for perfecting your control while Ground and Pounding.