Boxing Forums

User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Chris Eubank interview from Boxing News 1988!!!

Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Chris Eubank interview from Boxing News 1988!!!

Some of the Quotes

June 1988 (just after his fight with Male Justin)
    "Gary Stretch is nothing more than a pretty face. He gets all this publicity for dating glamorous women, yet he's never fought anybody. In the Jerome gym in New York, every pretty face i saw lacked heart, punch them and they wouldnt be back again."

"I told a Hove newspaper before i fought him (Winston Burnett) that i was the most experienced boxer in britain, Ive being doing this for five years and you'd need hundreds of sets of fingers to count how many gym wars I had in the Bronx. I know all the tricks of the trade."

"I graduated from high school, Morris High in the Bronx, two summers ago. I spent 3 and a half years studying, simultaneous to my boxing. Then 6 months later i qualifed as a typist, i had been simultaneously learning some martial arts techniques those 6 months and sometimes spending the weekends in Brighton or Peckham, sometimes sparring at the Jack Pook gym or Peckham ABC. I failed my real estate exams though so started boxing seriously again around February or March last year while still into the martial arts. I had two fights fall through last summer at the Felt Forum, and then my manager Adonis Torres passed on last October and i had to pull out of my supposed fight with Sam Houston at the Atlantis Hotel at short notice. Thats when he fought Watson at short notice, when he became available. Ive had 8 fights, but im the complete package. In my first couple of fights which were televised over there, the commentators said that while my jab and combinations were looking world class, i was cuffing with the left hook and had no flexibility at the waist. I went away, i learned to t