Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Pain in my knees recently...

I have been training for about 14 months at a local gym. I havent been in a fight yet, but have sparred many, many times with other boxers from my gym and other local gyms. I am 5'9", 158 lbs, (very lean, 11.9% body fat) I have never in my life been heavy, never been in any kind of accident or serious injury at all.

About a month ago, i noticed that my knees were starting to hurt after workouts. Its not a cracking or popping, its just a pain that feels like its coming from the center of my knees. I train 3-4 days a week usually, so i took a week off from the gym and the pain goes away by the end of the rest week. I have a doctors appointment for an Xray and possible MRI next week. Im hoping that I dont have any serious problem like weak cartilage that will make me stop training.

Does anyone have any idea's what could be wrong with my knees?

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Pain in my knees recently...

Have you been doing any heavy roadwork lately?
    If you hear a voice within you saying that I am not a painter, then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.

Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

I have dodgy knees, try not to skip on hard/solid floors, skip in the ring. If you can do your running on a treadmill or running track do that. Lots of trainers will think you're trying to get out of the hard work. If they hurt doing squats then check your technique, don't jerk or snap your knees back, very bad, also don't bend as deep.

For some reason my knees just kill if I do lunges, it's one of those things, I just can't do them without knee pain.