Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Question about footwork

I've been working a lot more on my timing and combos this past month, and there is one particular combo that Im having trouble where I lose my balance just enough that on my last punch Im really not getting it off solid and crisp like I want to. I'll admit, as far as a boxer, Im still learning to get the street fighter out of me (I know what you think about that street fighting Andre, but that's where I got my rep from when I was a teen and young 20's.. Im over that $hit now... as much as I can). So I use my strength and quickness to my advantage, and try to end fights quickly.. but yea. I love the combo left jab, right straight, left hook to the body, left hook to the head, right hook to the head. Its just that last right hook though thats really causing me problems. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks all.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Question about footwork

drop your left shoulder before you throw the right hook

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

thanks, Ill work on that tomorrow

Mentioned
    447 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Your rear heel can turn in to face your front foot for a total body weight shift into the hook finish ,it gets you 3 inches further in with full weight behind it.
    Or if he has started to move out ,step forward with the rear (right) foot underneath the right hook, (thats if he has started to lean or head out of reach or been punched out of distance by your first three shots.

But dont just stop ,keep moving from there and either switch back as you head further around to his side, just make sure your feet take you, to where you want to be after your combo.
    and watch your ribs.

Are you a vertical fist hooker elbow down.