Boxing Forums

User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Am i Using the Slip Bag Correctly?

Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Am i Using the Slip Bag Correctly?

YouTube - Boxing Warmup and Slip Bag

Comments and criticism on my form, technique, and training.
    Everything ive learned is self taught, since i dont have a boxing gym near where I live.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Am i Using the Slip Bag Correctly?

Hey Red,

I noticed that when you were jumping rope, that your arms were sticking out way too far. I think that the problem is that your jump rope may be too long for you, so you'll need to find out the right length. Using a rope that's at the right length will enable you to train with proper form and thereby allow you to train longer and more efficiently.

To find the right length, start by holding the handles like ski-poles (upside-down in other words), and then take a small step forward with one foot stepping on the rope. Pull the handles up to your chest, and at the right length the tip the handles should come up no farther than the center of your chest (just above your nipples and below your arm pits). Cut a piece off of the rope until it's the right length, but not too short because that leads tp more problems with no chance of going back.

With your technique when skipping the rope, try to keep your elbows close to your body, and your hands should be near your waist. The motion comes from your forearms and the small twirl of your wrists. Your shoulders should stay relaxed, and don't raise your shoulders or the rope will catch on your feet. With your legs keep a slight bend in your knees, and you want to aim to jump just high enough to clear the rope.