Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Movement...Help Tips....

Hi,
    I'm a beginner. I started boxing about 5 months ago. Right off the bat I know I need to shadow box more. I think I naturally fall into a crouch forward pressure type of fighting. It just feels more instinctual to me. The problem is that whenever I want to work my outside game it falls into a monstrosity that tries to emulate Ali/Robinson but falls way way short. Moving forward is the problem. I seem to fall into that all the time. That's fine as a tactic but it seems to be the only program I am running in my brain computer. I don't want it to be a strategy.
    I noticed I am not moving enough or moving too much.
    I have a tendency to follow the person I am sparring with.

Are there any tips for lateral/angular movement or anything that anyone here can pass on.

Thanks in advance.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Movement...Help Tips....

My advice would be get in the ring, and just run around the rings circle without a stance or anything, and don't actually run, just keep stepping to the side like you would in a match. But do it freely like you don't care if you make a mistake, and do it without being in a stance just let your arms hang. Once you've got the hang of that, stay without a stance but keep moving while randomly throwing a jab. Keep doing that, after a while put in a 1-2 etc. I've seen this work for other fighters who were looking for their "personal" stance, as well as fighters just generally practicing their footwork to become lighter on their feet.

Try it, not like it's going to hurt you or anything.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Hey Thanks...I'll try it tomorrow...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Quote Originally Posted by danieladamsmith View Post