Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default 1st sparring session

Hey all

Today I had my first sparring session and boy do I suck.
    (I'm posting from my mobile, and searching the forum sucks when I'm on my mobile. Will hopefully get to a pc on the weekend

I know its my first time and I can only improve. So any advice wrt to 'sparring for beginners' would be greatly appreciated.

For those who haven't sparred yet, it's totally different than hit the heavy bag, first the opponent is always moving and second you have to do defense. I was not able to land any combination. After I landed the jab the opponent was not in the same place if anything I got wacked straight back. It was very weird I was not in my comfort zone but pressed on, the only time I feel in control was when I was jabbing like a maniac, but when I stopped jabbing I was in shit street. When he attacked I clammed up and didn't worry about my body. Just gloves up and elbows in the air. Anyway that shuld be enuff for now looking forward to your replies tx ST1
    Last edited by ST1; 03-02-2011 at 09:37 PM.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: 1st sparring session

Hey man, it's all good. Fighting/Sparring is not a natural act by any means. Adrenaline levels are up, heart is racing...If you can get yourself to relax the tense muscles and BREATHE.

For me my biggest issues are relaxing my shoulders and arms, but when you see punches coming it's only natural to cover with flexed muscles. The more you get in the ring and spar, the more comfortable you will be come. It's when you start reacting out of instinct, rather than having to think about what you are doing, that you know you are getting comfortable and becoming a boxer.