Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Help With 11 year old Boxer

Hi people,

I'm new to this, I'm after some advice as my little bro is an amateur boxer. He has just turned 12 and weighs 43kg, he has had one fight which he had away from home and lost on points (home town decision).

He trains at his local gym around 3 to 5 times a week for 2 hours. I'm after advice on what sort of strengh and conditioning work i should do with him. Any advice on nuitrition/protein shakes: exercises will be appreciated. Also what sort of distances should an 12yr old run, sprints or jogging etc.

He is hoping to fight at 41kg eventually, he is due to have his second fight this coming
    Wednesday.

Thank you in advance

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Help With 11 year old Boxer

at 12y.o. his body has a lot of growing to do. I would stay away from weights and stick to iso work outs. Build his cardio and work with high intensity intervals. Start to build his muscle memory early. Well balanced meals as well as rest.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Thanks dude,

Any ideas on what sort of distance he should be jogging.

Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

if he's fighting this Wednesday, in 2 days, then do no extra cardio. he won't have time to recover for his match. but after that, you can consider picking up the cardio, starting maybe with some short distance running, some sprints here and there. not much more then twice a week on off days from the gym. as far as strength training, ya, being that young it is best to only stick to bodyweight exercises, and nothing too taxing. again on off gym days.