Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Sore arms

Sounds general doesn't it?
    In any event, I'm 5'10" at 150lbs. I've been sparring and hitting the bag with 14oz gloves. I'm a novice in the world of boxing.
    After a session of hard work sometimes it feels like the bones in my arms are gettign sore, granted massaging the muscles feels damn good. I'd say its a dull pain from about three inches from behind the wrist to about three inches down from the center of my shoulder. Any one else experience this? Should I be worried about my tendons or should I continue believing my bones are just getting more dense? Know remedies?
    Today when I got home after sparring I filled my sink with cold water (I'm in AK and the water is very cold here), sat in a chair in front of it and just let my arms soak. Seemed to work well.

Mentioned
    177 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Sore arms

Is there anybody there showing you how to do this properly? Are you in a boxing gym or a health-club? I've seen people in health clubs hitting heavy bags in a way designed to tear up shoulders and arms and wrists because the people 'training' them think you just go ahead and whale away.
    When you punch your wrists have to remain straight, and you don't want to be hitting with your arms. That puts a lot of strain on your shoulders. It is also not a good idea to hit the bag as it swings towards you.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks