Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default practicing defense alone

I am a college student in the middle of nowhere and there are no martial arts gyms any where close. I have boxed for the past few years and want to get back into it. There is a bag at the school gym which i hit and i also shadow box. Is there any way for me to practice my defense other then just shadow defense drills? thank you

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: practicing defense alone

You can also practice your defense drills in front of the heavy bag. But doing defensive shadow boxing and defensive boxing on the heavy bag is barely adequate.

Put some posters up around the school. Advertising boxing. Get some new guys. Teach them what you know. Then go get a head guard and spar. Sparring is the best way to learn defense or any skill. Although to behonest the best defense is an aggressive offence. Better to do the punching and hit your opponent than to be getting hit. Although you will have to learn how to take a punch in boxing.

I take it if your learning to defend. That your footwork is 100% and you've learnt every boxing punch under the sun? Including all the different combinations? Basicly what I'm saying is. You've learnt every bit of offence before going on to learn defence. If you train to early on in defence, it may give you a defence complex. Ideally if you do get some other people interested in boxing. You want to learn all the punches and footwork on pads, moving around inside a ring. Doing the correct footwork whilst moving round the ring is important. So that you do not get knocked off balance, expose yourself or a part of your body, and finally so that you can deliver all the power behind your punches.

Gone a bit side tracked, hope you don't mind. You may already know the above. Good luck.