Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default *VIDEO* sparring advice

[youtube]<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/X4XKSpqPJ9A?list=UUTFBviI3YfCXahhfGcqoiXA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>[youtube]

I was doing some situational sparring with a friend. I was hoping you could give me some advice. I was working on using my jab and footwork while my opponent was looking to work on the inside. Inside fighting is a weakness of mine (among many), so hopefully I can get some tips. Sorry the video cuts out a tad early.

Thanks!

*EDIT: Tried to embed the video. Couldn't do it. I'm a rookie at this. Sorry. Here's the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbxoH...fCXahhfGcqoiXA
    Last edited by God.in.my.corner; 03-14-2014 at 06:50 AM.

Mentioned
    177 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: *VIDEO* sparring advice

Which one are you?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Haha. See, I'm a true rookie.

I've got the red headgear and grey shirt.

Mentioned
    177 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

A lot of people would tell you to keep your left up, to keep a higher guard. I don't subscribe to that belief, but you do have a tendency to drop your hands and punch from the waist. You are too square up to do that; turn sideways. Get your left hip and shoulder up front. And keep your right hand home. The huge majority of your defensive work is done by the right hand, ideally. It catches the jab and it blocks the hook, the right elbow protects the body. Also, if you keep the right hand home, you can shoot it when you punch.
    You also have a tendency to walk forward after your right hand, to bring your right foot up, like a baseball pitcher, you know? That will get you hit really hard- watch Tyson v Botha.