Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Issues on reach

I'm a beginner who has started sparring recently and am looking for help with a couple of issues.
    I have developed a strong left jab which I throw most frequently, however my sparring partner is very good at leaning back to avoid my left jab. I can sneak them in with feints and good movement, but i'd like to know how to improve my reach. A larger step in would increase my reach but is that too risky for me as he is a strong puncher in close range.

Also, he has a strong right hand with straights and hooks, what is the best way to deal with that or shut down the right hand as his left is weak. I can dodge his punches but my stamina leaves me short after a few rounds of dodging his right.

Thanks in advance for your advice and criticism.

Mentioned
    448 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Issues on reach

Double up the jab, follow him back if you can, cause he is off balance if he is leaning back.
    If his lead arm worries you as your heading in, then try to position yourself to use your lead glove to cover his elbow point as you go in and launch a shot from there as you move.

Not many people do it, but if your outreached by a lengthy lead arm that follows you around and keeps you at a distance you can lightly move that arm on the way in.Chances are his reaction will be to push the opposite way to what you try to lightly move it so you slip around the same way that you pushed cause he will then help you by reacting the reverse.

(I'm the alternate styled one in here) I try and come up with different stuff then the usual...have fun with it or ignore me if you feel the urge ;-).
    Hidden Content " border="0" />

I can explain it.
    But I cant understand it for you.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks