Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Just Beggining, and getting comfortable with my style

Hey everyone. Ive been training around the house with friends and what not and Im just a beginner. Everything ive read about defense is the good ol' earmuffs, hands against side of head classis style. But when I use that I feel stiff as a board, a lot less fluent.

Ive been keeping my left hand almost under my chin, and my right across my chest. My head is almost tottally exposed but I can move more freely that way on my feet it seems. Anyway, ive been looking to get into a gym soon here, should I just play it safe with the ear muffs? or is it normal to just stick with what im using? Also how much will a gym cost me? Im a college student and im not going to have a whole lot to spend on a gym.

Thanks.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: Just Beggining, and getting comfortable with my style

Most gyms advocate the hands up high defense, and they'll call you out if you drop your hands for any reason. I believe having the hands held low is great for a lot of reasons, but if you don't know how to think on your feet or defend you're gonna be s.o.l. It's best to get the fundamentals down first, your stance, how you move and then you can add on to that. You should become deliberate as there should be always be a valid reason behind what you're doing.

As for gym costs it varies. The place that I've been going to for a while was just 5 bucks a month and as it turned out the gas bill was more than the dues. Some places are outrageously expensive. You need to find out what kind of place it is before you decide to put down any money.

If you find out that you don't have the means to go to a gym, you can buy yourself a heavy bag, and a mirror. You can come around here for reference or if you have any questions.