Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default a few questions

Hey I am new to the forums...I am also new to the boxing world it is something I am getting interested in.. my first question is what are some good start up workouts for me all I have is weights and a heavy bag right now.. I am 5'9 200 lbs... and second i am looking to get into a local boxing contest it is something like the toughman contest and there is alot of street fighters in it that just come in swinging crazy what is the best technique for something like that?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Default Re: a few questions

Ok,on the wild swinging loons
    A)A good jab,not a pawing jab,really cracking that sucker off,use their momentum against them
    B)Step away from their ridiculous hooks and throw your own on the opposite side,he's allready winding up for it
    C)The body,nobody throws to it in these things
    D)Keep in mind you have short rounds

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Very belated reply, but the board is dull at the moment so I'll offer my advice.

1) Movement. He can't hit what's noit in range. Practise is the only way to improve movement. This can also help in getting him fatigued.

2) Defence. When fighting a fellow who swings crazily, often the best defence to adopt is the hands up style as slipping and bobbing can get you caught. (Often a wild fighter can catch a guy good on the defence like that)

3) Straights. When the hands are up on the inside use straight punches. It's easy tire a wild guy and straight opunches will penetrate whatever guard he has.