Boxing Forums

User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Questions and reflections from a beginner (Warning, LONG post).

Share/Bookmark
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Punch Power
    Cool Clicks

Smile Questions and reflections from a beginner (Warning, LONG post).

Hello all,

I started to train boxing about 2 months ago, and just for the fun of it, I thought I'd write down my experience, some thoughts/impressions and questions. Maybe other people who are thinking about starting will find it motivating and enlightening, and of course, if someone could help me answer the questions I would be very happy. (for the questions, please skip ahead to the end)

First a bit of background. I'm having a delayed 30 years crisis and that is why I started. I'm actually closer to 31, but better a late 30-year crisis than none at all. As for sports I did train judo and taijutsu for 5 years up until I was 18, so I have some background in a martial arts. Then I had 12 years of inactivity which I blame on work and college (I know, shame on me). But now I'm finally doing something about it, so that's good!

So here starts the story.

I've been thinking about training boxing on and off for years, and seeing friends around me becoming fatter and fatter, I decided that I did not like that fate. So battling my prejudice about only tough killers going to boxing gyms, I finally decided to go to my first class. The result was that I almost died, because I couldn't breath at the end of the session. The result was almost the same for sessions 2 and 3, and then things started to improve a bit. Around class 8 I am still out of breath, but at least I don't feel like dying any more.

What can I say?

I discovered that pretty much all boxers, although some look pretty scary, are actually very nice and helpful people! =) If I ask about something, most people seem to be happy to show me how I should do it and give me a bit of advice.