Home / Boxing Results / England Hauls In Five Gold Medals At Commonwealth Games

England Hauls In Five Gold Medals At Commonwealth Games

England won five Gold, one Silver and one Bronze Medal in the Boxing competition at this year’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Scott Fitzgerald of Preston won a Gold Medal in the Men's Welterweight Division, beating Mandeep Jangra of India, while Joe Joyce of London won Gold in the Men's Super Heavyweight Final, beating Australia’s Joseph Goodall.

Nicola Adams of Leeds became the first Female Commonwealth Games Champion after scoring Gold in the Women's Flyweight Division, beating Michaela Walsh of Northern Ireland. Savannah Marshall of Hartlepool won Gold in the Women's Middleweight Division, beating Ariane Fortin of Canada.

Anthony Fowler of Liverpool won Gold in the Men's Middleweight Division, Leeds man Qais Ashfaq won Silver in the Men's Bantamweight Division – losing out to Northern Ireland's Michael Conlan in the Final.
Sam Maxwell of Hackney won Bronze in the Men's Light-Welterweight Division.

About Jane Warburton

Check Also

Errol Spence Lamont Peterson

Spence Jr. Retains IBF Title With TKO Victory Over Peterson

Undefeated welterweight world champion Errol Spence Jr. retained his IBF title with an impressive stoppage …