Re: Wow disgusted by the Molina vs Kirland stoppage

Originally Posted by
shza
I don't know, from the text of the rule ("If the contestant rises before the count of ten, the bell shall ring ending the round."), I think Molina's camp has the better argument. It doesn't matter if you call it a standing 8-count or, more properly, refer to it as a mandatory 8-count. Either way, per the rule, the bell should have been rung as soon as he got to his feet, ending the round, and permitting the corner to enter.
Exactly, the Texas rule states once the fighters on his feet the round should end. The ref was in the wrong for issuing the 8 count!
The Best There Is, The Best There Was, The Best There Ever Will Be
Bookmarks